Tilaa

Clos du Moulin aux Moines

Starting in the 10th century, the monks of the Cluny Abbey were the initial artisans of the Clos du Moulin aux Moines.

They chose the site for its unique position at the junction of a stream and the valleys (or “combs”) leading down to the neighboring villages of Auxey-Duresses and Meursault. The stream, known as the ruisseau des Cloux, provided hydropower, and the limestone hills were surrounded by prairies. The Clos du Moulin aux Moines lived off of multiple activities, including a mill, a dovecote, a bread oven, a dairy, accommodations, an orchard. Their multiple activities played a vital role in feeding the neighboring villages, but also in the flourishing local economy.

Year after year, the structure evolved and adapted to the twists and turns of History, such as the Hundred Years War, the dwindling influence of monastic orders, developments in agricultural techniques and the phylloxera crisis…

As far back as the history goes, those in charge of the establishment have had a deep-rooted commitment to turning the place into a center of influence, innovation and sharing. A place where grape-growing and wine-making are ancestral skills, the fruit of global reflection and continuous reassessment of natural and human impact.

In over 1000 years, only 5 owners have succeeded one another in directing the destiny of the estate and rising to the challenges with which they have been faced.

For some time, the vineyard languished in the shadow of its past reputation. Since 2008, the estate staff, led by Willy Roulendes, has been patiently orchestrating its revival, under the impetus of the owners, the Rollin family.

The historic plot known as the Clos du Moulin aux Moines, for which the estate is named, is an iconic site and the beating heart of the estate, composed of vineyards and a winery. The unique site includes a grand main building overlooking three hectares of vines encircled by a long stone wall, hence the name “Clos”. As the crown jewel of the estate, this parcel also qualifies as a “Monopole” because it belongs to a single owner. Today, the vineyards of the Clos du Moulin aux Moines cover 16 hectares, spread over twenty appellations in the northern and the southern parts of the Côte de Beaune.

The Clos du Moulin aux Moines was mentioned in the nomination for the inclusion of the Burgundy Climats in the UNESCO World Heritage List. In the section on the invention of “vins de garde” and vintage wines, it is indicated that the sales log for the wine merchant, Monsieur François Lavirotte [1704-1778] from Beaune, specialist in aged wines, mentions a specific vintage of “aged red wine from the cuvée [17]35 near the Moulin Moine (in Meursault), attesting to the quality of the vineyard at the Moulin.”

Willy Roulendes has been running the estate since 2008. His ambition and commitment to winegrowing have enabled the fulfillment of a project that respects the environment and the identity of this historic Burgundian site.

Originally from the Languedoc region, he grew up surrounded by vineyards, and quickly devoted his energy and curiosity to viticulture. He began working in Burgundy at the Domaine de Montille before joining the Clos du Moulin aux Moines.

It was during that period that he met Michael Schwab, who, far from his native Lorraine, was charmed by the Burgundy vineyards. He joined his friend Willy in Auxey-Duresses in 2020 to help with the daily management of the vineyard. A great lover of nature and a bon vivant, Michael’s good humor is contagious within the team.